Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from January, 2019

1/22/2019

So, had Martin Luther King Jr. Day off and got paid. That was nice. Today was, well it was okay. I got a shitty quality score again, but I find myself caring less and less about that. Funny how the customer quality scores are so high and these are not. They tell us they are random calls, but we all know better. They can't have too many people making huge bonus checks all at the same time, right? I never worked at a place that gave you a bonus with no sales. It seems doomed to failure, but since I will be gone soon it makes no difference to me. I left during an ice storm. Pretty sure I will be calling off work tomorrow. That means I will work two days this week and get paid for five. Really the only thing I like about this job.

1/18/2019

Had a woman come in screaming like a maniac with a litany of profanity. She refused to stop until I shouted at her. Then she was fine, but still said 'fucker' before she hung up.

1/16/2019

I took a half day and filled out a bunch of applications online instead. Also, comic book day with the twins and Martha, always a great time. And, since I used vacation time, I got paid. Whoopee!

1/15/2019

I got to write some of the sixth volume of Monster Killer today. Then it got busy like always for too damn long. We keep getting emails from our Team Lead telling us to do stuff on our calls. We spend more time talking them down because they had to wait to talk to us. If there was a bonus for putting out those fires I would be wealthy beyond my wildest imagination

1/14/2019

Mondays are really no fun. It was slow for part of the day so I managed to get the research I needed done to start on the sixth book of the Monster Killer service. Hopefully, it will be slow tomorrow so I can get some writing done. I had to file some stuff to get an electronic download of my W2 form today and that got done, but it was an awful lot of hoops. I don't want to wait for the paper in the mail though. I made the decision that I will need to go to the doctor's to get an opinion on my shoulder from getting hit by a car while on my bicycle. Progressive Insurance is supposed to reimburse me for the bike, but they say I have to file for the medical reimbursement with my wife's insurance. ??? I think it might be time to get my ducks in a row and get a lawyer. Yippee!

1/12/2019

Saturdays are the other bad day at work. Never enough people and we get people calling for no other reason than they have no idea we are open 24 hours a day every damned day. So, they think we are only open bank hours and we get slammed. Just so much damned fun. The nice part about it is that since they think we are only open during those hours the calls tend to fall off for the last half hour or so. I had an older lady tell me a joke today. It was okay funny, but not funny enough to type over here. Your loss.

1/11/2019

Friday, after a bunch of days off because I felt like it and I was back at the place. The understaffed always busy with just the most mindless questions every asked. I think knowing that I'm on my nway out that I have just become numb to the stupidity. They have these things where they judge your phone calls and base a bonus on it. I got a bad score. Don't care. My manager is threatening to write everyone up because we don't want to stay in our seats and get bombarded with a constant flow of angry calls. Interestingly enough they also have a quality score that is determined by the customers themselves. My score in that is perfect. So, I make the people paying us happy, but the picky shit in a room listening to my calls have their panties in a bunch? Yeah, don't care.

1/8/2019

I didn't go to work yesterday because my dog died. I went today and didn't feel like being there. Luckily, the vacation clock has reset with the glorious New Year (Insert sarcasm where appropriate) and I left after a half day. When I called in yesterday I gave my name, my ID and my Team Leaders name. They marked me absent. My Team Leader fixed it, but what the Hell?? It amazes me that a place responsible for so many people's money has such shitty computer systems. Maybe spend a little of the billions in profit next year for shit that works. I'll be back on Friday with a report

1/7/2019

I was supposed to go to work today. Today is my lovely wife's birthday, but we were going to do something after work, nothing fancy. We have this dog named Sweetie who is extremely old and hasn't been doing all that well. I got up this morning to go to work and Sweetie decided sometime in the night that her victory lap was over and she was leaving us. Yeah, I'm not going to work. My stomach feels sour and I'm just tired as Hell. I love you Sweetie. Stupid dog. 

1/5/2019

Saturday are the worst so, I was a little surprised that it was slow for the first couple of hours. Then the idiots woke up and called again all damn day. I managed to have a few nice callers and we had nice conversations and I was able to help them with their financial concerns and problems. The asshats that called got nothing all damned day and I did the bare minimum. My favorite thing is that no one managed to pay their bill and they thought I would take off the late fee. HA! Get bent.

1/4/2019

NOTE: I thought I hit publish and didn't. Sorry, here ya go. Walked into the computers not working, the automated voice response system not working and a whole lot of people waiting to tell us how long they were waiting for us to yell at us. In other words; an  other typical day at the financial institution. It started early and just beat us down all damn day. It never got better and my lovely wife came and got me from work so you know it was bad. And I get to go to work again tomorrow. Wheee!

1/2/2019

Wednesdays are the worst at work. Understaffed so we are constantly swamped and they do nothing to rectify this. Add that it's the day after a holiday and our clientele don;t understand that we are open twenty four hours a day and, well you get the idea. Remember, these are the people that have credit cards with us and think that it's their money. Let that simmer in your brain for a minute. And, if that wasn't bad enough, the following people died today; Mean Gene Okerlund Super Dave Osbourne Daryl Dragon a.k.a Captain from Captain and Tennille. Really, 2019? That's the way you want to start this? Is it 2020 yet because I'm calling it and it's the second day of the year. I have tomorrow off. See you Friday.

Introductions

Hello, Internet acquaintances. Today is New Year's Day. Six months from now I will be leaving my position with an unnamed financial institution where I work in a call center dealing with credit cards for the aforementioned financial institution. I have worked there for over six years and after futilely trying to build some sort of career there and being thwarted at every turn, I have decided that as a birthday present to myself I will no longer be there. My loving wife and family are going to be the financial support of the household and we will be moving to Ohio shortly after I leave my position at the financial institution. This blog will serve to mark the last six months of my being there. At the end of the blog I will reveal the name of the financial institution. My plan is to mark the uncanny stupidity that the financial world works in. No names or details that will reveal anyone I come in contact with during this time period. The names have been removed to protect the incre...